The Board Game Hut - Great Games Supported By Great Service
Dismiss Notice
Welcome to Senior Gamers!

We are a community for mature gamers who primarily play online games on PlayStation consoles (PS4, PS3, PS Vita). You can find out more in our About Us section.

If you are new to the site, why not register? By doing so and being an active member you can view the site without adverts, make posts and more. You can register here and even do so using Facebook, Twitter or Google+!

Sort out your internet you laggy barsteward!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Acegadgets, 29 Oct 2012.

  1. Acegadgets

    Acegadgets Not so serious gamer
    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    28 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    2,357
    Likes Received:
    528
    Trophy Points:
    1,395
    PSN:
    Acegadgets
    My name is Ian and I am a lagger

    I hate it.
    Some games like Battlefield can freeze up completely, some like GT 5 suddenly see's my car jumping all over the place, for others but appears perfectly OK to me. (see GT 5 video) Others like Ghost Recon and MOH Warfighter just rubber band a bit.

    This is not a permanent thing ,its a sporadic fault that comes on at peak times and is cured by switching the PS3 off and on.

    So get a faster line or change your ISP, I hear you say.

    Well, to start with I cant get cable in my area, I cant get BT infinity and anything similar. The average download speed that ISP's say I can get in my street is 2 mbs. Openreach have no current plans to upgrade our estate, so I could wait for up to 4 years for super fast fible optic broadband. I can and will be changing my ISP in December when the contract ends.
    I am currently with Orange and I actually get 3.5mb up and ,5mb down , which is slightly more than my neighbours seem to get as I recently installled an iPlate onto the master box. The speed isn't really the problem, its the fact that occasionally the ping goes off the scale as does jitter and Packet loss.
    It is an intermittent fault that occurs at peak times. Within a few mins my ping will go up from a 30 to nearly a thousand.

    I've tried just about everything to cure it and just when I think I've found out why it might happen it raises its ugly head again. I thought my sons downloading was the problem so banned him from downloading or streaming anything when I was online.
    Looking at the links Martok posted, done most of the suggestions , Only one cable that I havent replaced yet . At the moment I have a new router located after my Master box, this was sent to me the first time I complained to Orange . I then fitted a BT iPlate then a New filter and new short cable to a new router (Orange Brightbox) There is then a 5 m cable to a netgear 5 port 10 /100 hub. From there I've another new 5 m cable into my room, directly into my PS3.
    The reason I think the cabling is fine and the splitter box i'snt the problem is that it happened when I was wireless, which is why I went back to wired.
    I am going to try Wireless again for the rest of the week as a further test.

    Anyway , I rang Mumbai again yesterday and the chappy went through all of the usual stuff AGAIN telling me to disconect everything from the master box and he would then do a test, I then put the phone and router in and he re tested . He asked about the lights on the front AGAIN, and said that the line seemed fine. He told me to leave it on for 48 hours (i never switch it off) so they can monitor it, and will be calling me back tomorrow. This was a step forward from last time, as they told me that i should ring them when the connection was poor so they could try to locate the problem.
    Problem is my problem is intermittent.
    During the day the ping test is an A, at night it goes to a B, sometimes slightly into the C bracket. However from time to time it just goes off the scale. Such as during that race when ping went up to a thousand and jitter was over 100.
    To cure it , I turn off the PS3 leave it for a minute and all is well again for another hour or three.
    So, I expalain this to Mr chadda , who says that they will monitor it and send an engineer out if nescesary . I tell them that i believe the problem is with them, and mention contension ratios. I believe that the bandwidth in my street is being squeezed so much that sharing the small amount of bandwidth with 50 other neighbours at peak times is causing it to break down. I bacically need more bandwidth, but I cant get it where I live, atleast not from Orange.
    I had a look at other service providers, and found that the f Plusnet for example guarantee you more bandwidth for an extra fiver a month. Instead of sharing at peak times with 50 others , You share with something like 20.
    I am very interested in hearing from anyone else who lives in an area where the max speeds are less than 4 gb and conection problems are poor at peak times.
    Does anyone else pay an extra premium for more bandwidth (not faster speeds). Do any other ISP's that you know of do this?
    Also if I am changing , what ISPs have english only call centres as calling India , waiting for ages, to go through the same questions, and told to do the same things is pissing me off a lot.
    I'm looking for feedback from other ISP's especially when you've had a problem, Who is good, who is bad to deal with?
    My son works for BT (mechanic) and can get reduced prices on broadband/ phone deals, however my neighbours have the same problems as me with Lag, slow connections at peak times, so I am wondering if BT can't fix it, can anyone.
    So who are you with and what are they like to deal with when things go wrong?
     
  2. Plaxinator

    Plaxinator Wino extraordinaire
    Staff Member Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    3,107
    Likes Received:
    2,301
    Trophy Points:
    1,790
    PSN:
    Plaxinator
    I'm with TalkTalk. I know they have a bad rep but they have been spot on with me. As was AOL when I was with them. I only had 1 problem with my router when I was with AOL, and when I phoned up India they sorted it there and then. When I moved to TalkTalk I noticed my line was a lot less stable and kept reverting to a lower speed. I used the Talk talk customer bulletin boards to sort it, and again the mods there were spot on. Apparently the decrease in speed was due to my connection disconnecting frequently and the DLM switching me to a lower speed profile to try and stabalise it. Anyhows to cut a long story short they have switched off the DLM on my line and with a better router and an iplate my internet has been great.
    Currently I am getting 6.5 Mbps down (and 1.2Mbps up), which I don't think I'm supposed to get as all my other neighbours only get up to 3Mbps. They are all with BT (apart from one who is with Orange on a mobile 3g thing). I ain't switching to BT anytime soon as they are expensive and have loads of customers so I don't want to have a higher contention ratio. Talk Talk have their own equipment in the local exchange now which is how I think I'm getting a much higher download rate.
     
  3. mick

    mick Even More Grumpy Grandad
    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    25 Sep 2012
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    1,031
    Trophy Points:
    1,540
    PSN:
    mick170669
    I live in a brand new area that is still being built, some of the homes around here are £1M+ and all sorts live up here (footballers etc)
    Yet even though there is a huge demand for it there is no fibre optic BB here. (The businesses have it but they pay for the fibre to be run from the exchange) When I moved here just over 4 years ago the only option for TV was Sky, so I had the phone and BB as well.
    The BB was at very best terrible. I was getting a download speed of 192kbps (yes you did read that right) I had 5 engineer visits and eventually Sky gave up and told me there was nothing they could do, which I knew anyway as its quite a distance from the exchange.

    I cancelled the BB and telephone from Sky and I am now with a local company called CallFlow who specialise in SLU. Basically they have been given permission to have there own cabinets in the area and they inject there own signal into the existing BT phoneline. So now rather than have copper cable from the exchange (which is approx 6 miles away) its fibre all the way to CallFlows cabinet and the last bit to my house is copper.

    I now get a download of just under 29mb and upload of 2mb.

    Sorry that it doesnt help you Ace, December isnt too far away :thumbup:
     
  4. Slaine

    Slaine Serious Gamer
    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    29 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    2,693
    Likes Received:
    1,038
    Trophy Points:
    1,355
    PSN:
    Torquemada
    Im with BT. Ive only had one outage in the 9 years Ive been with them, and that was just for 24 hours. And engineer came and fixed the problem outside and done. Im currently getting 15.46MB download and 0.97MB upload, and this is from the PC upstairs (wireless router downstairs). Ive had problems with routers, and you pay for what you get. I bought the best one I could and its been so fast and reliable I really cant complain (cost about £80). We pay BT about £30, and that includes broadband, unlimited calls to UK networks and line rental. We went for the slightly more expensive BT offerring, as we're heavy users and I didnt want no useage limit problems.

    Indian call centres Im afraid, although that might be just out of hours. I'd recommend them for a reliable service (BT not the indian call centres!! :lol: ). I live out in the sticks too, so Im well chuffed with the connection and what we get.

    Hope you get it sorted Ace. I do feel sorry for you, because its no fun. :thumbup:
     
  5. Jkrohn1

    Jkrohn1 5P4M 80T
    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    29 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    3,677
    Likes Received:
    439
    Trophy Points:
    1,365
    PSN:
    JKrohn1
    Ace move house, easiest fix in my eyes
     
  6. ColSonders

    ColSonders A.W.O.L.
    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    2,394
    Likes Received:
    933
    Trophy Points:
    1,524
    PSN:
    ColSonders
    Given the tests you've done yourself and your full explanation above.

    I'd actually say that as much as your ISP isn't helping your issue, and your router not having proper port forwarding set up (DMZ should work though) probably isn't helping the issue either. That seems more like an actual physical line issue than anything else.

    It's hard to tell with this sort of thing, but the fact it's at peak times leading to the conclusion of ISP contention ratios being the problem I think is probably a red herring. Yes the ISP is renowned for being bad (as are Sky, TalkTalk and a multitude of others that people use every day for gaming with no real issues) but if the ping and jitter are going through the roof it would point more towards a line issue.

    Also getting in touch with the ISP won't help diagnose that problem, only BT will be able to do that.

    When I moved house recently I had issues with my broadband, similarly to yours they were intermittent and only seemed to happen at peak times...however I know i'm with one of the better ISP's (O2 btw) so after banging my head about it a bit I got on the phone to them...a week later, several headaches and phonecalls later and they had completed their version of a line test/monitor period, probably much the same as the one your ISP is doing.

    No Dice...nothing wrong with my line.

    Anyway I ran an online test with BT on my telephone line, reporting the line as faulty, an engineer was out the following day, quickly checked my master socket, went off to the exchange, when he came back he said there was an issue between my house and the exchange and that they would find it and fix it within 24 hours.

    Not had a problem since then that wasn't my router losing settings...came off the ISP supplied router and no problems at all.
     
  7. Acegadgets

    Acegadgets Not so serious gamer
    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    28 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    2,357
    Likes Received:
    528
    Trophy Points:
    1,395
    PSN:
    Acegadgets
    I had the techno indian on the phone just now and after explaining everything that i've done so far, he dosent think its anything in the house or the router. A BT engineer is coming around next week to see if they can sort it out. The techno Indian seems to think that it is possibly a contention ratio problem as the problems occur at times when peak usage occurs. These are around 4 -5 pm when kids come home from school, at 6 pm when lower price or free phone calls are made. At 8.30 - 9 pm when the soaps finish and people often go onine and also around 10pm when a lot turn the TV off and go online. He also reckons that things like streetlights coming on can also cause a problem in certain areas with interferance or something.
    It could also be a physical wiring problem somewhere outside my house, and the engineer will possibly use a spare wire to try to get me a better connection to whatever its connected to.
    I asked him about contention ratios and he says that Orange cant offer anything lower than a 50 ratio, where as Virgin has this set at 20. This is why in my opinion my BT neighbours suffer as a lot of people in the street use BT and if they have 50 sharing a slow connection at night, it could lead to latency.
    I am going to look into what companies can give me a max sharing ratio of 20 , and see who has the best reputation. I'll keep you posted.
     
  8. ColSonders

    ColSonders A.W.O.L.
    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    2,394
    Likes Received:
    933
    Trophy Points:
    1,524
    PSN:
    ColSonders
    Fingers crossed that the BT engineer manages to fix the issue.

    I know you're kind of grasping at this contention ratio thing and you're staying clear of BT, however what BT do that is more important than contention ratio is throttle bandwidth during peak hours to ensure enough speed is available for general use/video streaming.

    So you may have 50:1 contention ratio with BT, which may look the same as 50:1 with many other ISP's, however if I happen to be one of those people you're sharing a line with and i'm downloading files at the maximum capacity of my line then you're suffering for it. On BT they restrict that sort of usage during peak hours so that no-one suffers (except those capping out their speed on downloads).

    More food for thought anyway.

    With the bandwidth being restricted during peak hours by BT to ensure video streaming capacity is available and your neighbour on BT having issues during peak hours all points more towards a physical line issue anyway...so I expect we'll see you on the lag free side of gaming by the end of this week. :thumbup:
     
  9. Acegadgets

    Acegadgets Not so serious gamer
    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    28 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    2,357
    Likes Received:
    528
    Trophy Points:
    1,395
    PSN:
    Acegadgets
    This week? I wish, probably in a few weeks.


    Been looking at congestion and contension issues and some companies manage things better than others.
    the best one still seems to be Plusnet, who are actually owned by BT and offer this:-
    http://www.plus.net/addons/pro/

    I wonder why BT and others dont do the same?

    next question is download limits, at the moment it is unlimited for me. Only BT, O2 and Orange offer this, however these are subject to a fair ussage policy . I am thinking that I might be capped from time to time? Could this cause the slow speeds and latency? Any way to find out if this is actually happening to me. There dosent seem to be anywhere where I can messure just how much we are downloading each month and find out if, because we are a high usage customer we are being capped by the ISP?

    How much we download per month is a question that i'll need to find the answer to as most companies have 10gb - 60 gb download prices. Does anyone know how much they download a month?
     
  10. Martok

    Martok Board Game Addict
    Staff Member Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2012
    Messages:
    4,819
    Likes Received:
    2,907
    Trophy Points:
    2,400
    PSN:
    Martok-
    BT provide their customers with a usage monitor which shows the amount you have used each month. We were on their 40Gb tariff and this was fine most of the time, though a couple of months we did go over that by a few Gb. We are now on their unlimited tariff and our monthly average is now around 60Gb. Some of this though is due to PS Plus and the sizeable downloads of some of the games, which for some we'll download twice so we have a copy on both PS3's, plus we also watch some TV programmes and films on LOVEFiLM instant.
     
  11. ColSonders

    ColSonders A.W.O.L.
    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    2,394
    Likes Received:
    933
    Trophy Points:
    1,524
    PSN:
    ColSonders
    Ace - if you're able to get BT broadband on the cheap then do it.

    You immediately bypass any bullshit finger pointing if there is an issue and their "fair usage" policy is one of the best around.

    Basically their policy equates to this:

    If you're downloading loads of stuff that is effecting other people's connections then ONLY during peak hours and ONLY for downloading/uploading your line will be throttled...you will still ALWAYS get a priority service on Video Streaming / Gaming even when your line is throttled.

    And they really are one of the best around, the reason I wouldn't recommend them any other time is there are other ISP's who offer an almost identical service (bar their new fiber service) for a fraction of the price...in my case I pay around 1/5 of the price BT want to charge me.
     
  12. Plaxinator

    Plaxinator Wino extraordinaire
    Staff Member Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    3,107
    Likes Received:
    2,301
    Trophy Points:
    1,790
    PSN:
    Plaxinator
    Some Netgear routers have a traffic monitor so you can see what and how much you are downloading. Talk Talk also show you your broadband useage. I'm on the Unlimited package as I do a lot of downloading with PS+, Steam, game updates etc. I usually use around 60 - 80GB a month, sometimes a lot more. My sister is on their 40GB package and that is fine for her as all she does is stream things like Netflix and LoveFilm and do the odd Windows update etc. My Step mum is with BT and they also have a useage monitor as Col has said. Only other advanatage with BT I suppose is you get free wi-fi minutes to use.
     
  13. DarthRaiden666

    DarthRaiden666 Warlock, Jedi, Sith... #66 PNMotorsport
    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    29 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    954
    PSN:
    Darth_Raiden
    I'm with plusnet Ace. Download limit 60gb and I've looked for unlimited use age with them but nothing. I'm gonna go pro though for better gaming.

    I also live in a poor Internet area.
     
  14. Acegadgets

    Acegadgets Not so serious gamer
    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    28 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    2,357
    Likes Received:
    528
    Trophy Points:
    1,395
    PSN:
    Acegadgets
    Had a lag free few days since last saturday. Just came online play medal of honour and I get this:-
    [​IMG]
    Obviously I cant play, lag is that bag that I freeze up, everyone else around me is rubber banding all over the place, I get shot, I quit game. The annoying thing is that the line was monitored over the last few days, before the techno indian rang and there was no problems recorded .
    So I switch off the playstation and get this:-

    [​IMG]

    Then switch on the playstation and test again:-

    [​IMG]

    Just putting the results on here to show to the engineer next week to see if he can fathom it out.
     
  15. ChrissPeacock

    ChrissPeacock Serious Gamer
    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    268
    Trophy Points:
    1,155
    PSN:
    ChrissPeacock
    Just a shot in the dark but have you tried a different ps3 at your house?
     
  16. Spruijt

    Spruijt Real men wear clogs
    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    29 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    751
    Trophy Points:
    1,415
    PSN:
    Spruijt
    I see only one option Ace: move to Holland. Good connection and the finest grass. Both pretty darn affordable. :D
     
  17. DarthRaiden666

    DarthRaiden666 Warlock, Jedi, Sith... #66 PNMotorsport
    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    29 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    954
    PSN:
    Darth_Raiden

    Can I come too??? ;)
     
  18. Acegadgets

    Acegadgets Not so serious gamer
    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    28 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    2,357
    Likes Received:
    528
    Trophy Points:
    1,395
    PSN:
    Acegadgets
    Update.
    Orange finally agreed to get an engineer around . He came yesterday (from BT) , I explained what was happening with sudden bouts of serious lag mainly in the evenings .
    He did a couple of line tests and said I had an excellent line , we had a bit of a chat and he said that although he couldn't help, he thought the Rain Man could.
    Didn't know what he was on about, He explained that it sounded like a REIN problem and that he would report no fault found and recomend to Orange that an Engineer who specialises in radio electrical interference be sent to investigate.
    I looked online to see what REIN is , what causes it and what cures it.
    I used to have a lot of BT sockets around the house, one in just about every room. These were all connected with copper wire, which acts like a huge antenna. This could pick up radio interference from anything transmitting i the vacinity. I live next to a Hospital, perhaps they transmit something at night? Also there's a farm converted to business units, perhaps they transmit data in the evening or a security guard might be on a walkie talkie, or even street lights could affect it ? More likely though is something closer to home. Thermostats on our heating system switching the system on and off could maybe caused an electrical spike. This could be picked up by the router causing it to go heywire.
    I said I used to have these wires all over the house. Most are now disconnected but one still remains which connects the phone in the steam room upstairs. I've now disconnected that one, so perhaps it may have cured it. Only time will tell. If not, the Rein man will be round sometime next week, so there is light at the end of the tunnel.
     
  19. Jkrohn1

    Jkrohn1 5P4M 80T
    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    29 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    3,677
    Likes Received:
    439
    Trophy Points:
    1,365
    PSN:
    JKrohn1
    Get a huge network cable and hardwire your ps3
     
  20. HaloJ

    HaloJ Serious Gamer
    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    28 Apr 2012
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    330
    Trophy Points:
    1,270
    PSN:
    HaloJ
    I thought Ace was already hard wired?

    That type of noise can exist in other locations not just within your home causing a deterioration in the line itself. The routers CRC error count would show if the nolise was affecting the line or not but it's information that you've never given out. It would be very interesting if that interference was local to the property though and not interference disrupting equipment on the line itself. I take it this engineer visited during daylight hours when the line is often heard singing happily to itself?

    Well done on getting a step closer to resolution. :thumbup:
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice