page formatting hiding items

ColSonders

A.W.O.L.
Senior Citizen
Joined
26 Jun 2012
Messages
2,394
Reaction score
933
Points
1,524
As you can see on the following shot i'm using two different browsers, both logged into the site and both show this same formatting behaviour.
The lower window shows my username/inbox/alerts/logout buttons, but the above Window that is slightly smaller hides them behind the Search box.
Untitled.jpg


This next screen shows where those features are hiding...kinda.

Untitled1.jpg


This happens on a fresh install of the latest version of Firefox and the IE is an older version...8 that i'm forced to use at work.

Running on Windows 7.
 

Martok

Board Game Addict
Staff member
Senior Citizen
Joined
12 Mar 2012
Messages
5,191
Reaction score
3,198
Points
2,630
@ColSonders - are there any particular steps to follow to to replicate this? Or does this just happen when you resize your browsers?

I've tried everything I can in Chrome 28, Firefox 22 and IE10 on my Windows 7 machine - resize the browsers, switch the screen resolution down to 800 x 600 - and I cannot replicate this at all. Tried the same on @HaloJ's Windows XP computer and can't replicate it there.

Can anyone else replicate this issue? If so, please post the browser & version and the OS you are using plus any steps to reproduce this.
 
Last edited:

ColSonders

A.W.O.L.
Senior Citizen
Joined
26 Jun 2012
Messages
2,394
Reaction score
933
Points
1,524
Nothing in particular no. Just resizing.

I've only noticed this today at work and after a chat with halo it's likely to do with the web policy. That in itself has likely changed since I used it last as I've been off for a week.

I only really mentioned it initially as I thought it was a site change that had borked the formatting and would apply to everyone.
 

Jkrohn1

5P4M 80T
Senior Citizen
Donator
Joined
29 Jun 2012
Messages
3,689
Reaction score
454
Points
1,365
well look at that it happened to me on page re-size :\

Untitled.png
 

Jkrohn1

5P4M 80T
Senior Citizen
Donator
Joined
29 Jun 2012
Messages
3,689
Reaction score
454
Points
1,365
wow and you cant see any of my porn on that screen shot, go me.

I just shrinkadinked the web page to get the above result
 

Martok

Board Game Addict
Staff member
Senior Citizen
Joined
12 Mar 2012
Messages
5,191
Reaction score
3,198
Points
2,630
just shrinkadinked the web page to get the above result
@Jkrohn1 what screen resolution are you on? What version of Chrome?

Oh and you do know you can dismiss those notifications about the Media Gallery and the Shop that are showing in your screenshot?
 
Last edited:

ColSonders

A.W.O.L.
Senior Citizen
Joined
26 Jun 2012
Messages
2,394
Reaction score
933
Points
1,524
OK, not a works web policy then.

Does exactly the same on my home PC using Windows 7 and IE.

Doesn't do it on Safari on my macbook though.
 

Martok

Board Game Addict
Staff member
Senior Citizen
Joined
12 Mar 2012
Messages
5,191
Reaction score
3,198
Points
2,630
Unless I can replicate it myself, there's no way I can begin to debug this. :(

The next version of the forum software will definitely fix this as it incorporates responsive design. This means that it will adjust how it displays according to your browser size. That includes menus too. There will be a few less menu items anyway as part of the redesign.
 

Martok

Board Game Addict
Staff member
Senior Citizen
Joined
12 Mar 2012
Messages
5,191
Reaction score
3,198
Points
2,630
I've now managed to replicate the issue!

I suspect that both @ColSonders and @Jkrohn1 have got your browser font sizes set to greater than 100%. This is how I got it to replicate the issue, increased the browser font site (by clicking on CTRL and +) and then resized the browser window.

To fix this, you can set your browser font size back to 100% (by clicking on CTRL and 0).

I don't think there's anything that can be done to fix it in the current software if you prefer your browser font size larger than 100%, though the next version of will fix this.
 
Last edited:

ColSonders

A.W.O.L.
Senior Citizen
Joined
26 Jun 2012
Messages
2,394
Reaction score
933
Points
1,524
You can see on my second screenshot that i've got it at 100% (shows in the bottom right on IE)

That's also not the case on my home PC (that I swear to cow i'm gonna strip down and sell, it's annoying).
 

Martok

Board Game Addict
Staff member
Senior Citizen
Joined
12 Mar 2012
Messages
5,191
Reaction score
3,198
Points
2,630
You can see on my second screenshot that i've got it at 100% (shows in the bottom right on IE)
I was ignoring IE8 because it's, well, an old piece of crap. ;)

That's also not the case on my home PC (that I swear to cow i'm gonna strip down and sell, it's annoying).
I've honestly no idea then what's causing this. Changing the browser font size is the only way I've replicated this so far.

Unless I can get any information to identify what might be causing this that will allow me to replicate it, then this will just have to go down as a future fix.
 

ColSonders

A.W.O.L.
Senior Citizen
Joined
26 Jun 2012
Messages
2,394
Reaction score
933
Points
1,524
Interestingly if I change to 125% zoom it no longer wraps.

If this isn't happening for everyone then it's no big deal tbh, I am aware of it and can deal with it.
 

ColSonders

A.W.O.L.
Senior Citizen
Joined
26 Jun 2012
Messages
2,394
Reaction score
933
Points
1,524
After a bit of consulting with Martok this morning we think we've got to the bottom of this.

This issue will be fixed in an upcoming version of the forum software so no further work needs done to resolve this.

Martok has kindly put in a temp fix of removing the "Help" item from the menu that should fix this.



And for the geeks, the issue itself is relating to a users name, if the length of the name hits a certain number of pixels then it screws up the percentage calculations that work out menu item placement and forces the last 4 items to be wrapped onto the next line.

What's happening is the browser is calculating percentages for each menu item, but it rounds them up to a certain precision, lets say 3 decimal places for arguments sake, then when it adds them back up it adds up to more than 100% and ****s everything up. Can't really post an example as it requires lots of percentages and i'm not THAT bothered, but basically when you round up on your decimal places to a shorter precision it will sometimes end up with slightly more than 100%, so 100.0001% for example, and that screws things up, which is why any web developer will use 99% as a size restriction when specifying panel/table max sizes.

Get yourself a cookie if you're still awake.
 

Jkrohn1

5P4M 80T
Senior Citizen
Donator
Joined
29 Jun 2012
Messages
3,689
Reaction score
454
Points
1,365
This is all just a mass of random words I think it's a conspiracy as Martok and Halo don't have this problem. There tricking us into a false sense of security when really there selling our details to them scientology people.

I'm watching you Marlo you tricky people you.
 
Top