Doctor Who - the Next Doctor

Martok

Board Game Addict
Staff member
Senior Citizen
Reaction score
Some of you know that I'm an avid Doctor Who fan, having watched the show since 1973! So last night I was glued to the TV watching Doctor Who Live: The Next Doctor where they revealed the actor who will play the Twelfth Doctor when Matt Smith leaves at Christmas.

That actor is of course, Peter Capaldi.

Some of you may know him as Malcolm Tucker, the rather sweary character from The Thick of It.

So, what do you think of this choice for the next Doctor?

I'm rather pleased with the choice. It's nice to see them choosing an older, established actor in the role. I'm hoping that he'll bring more depth to the character and get us away from the young lovey-dovey silliness that we've had in recent years (not that I've disliked Matt Smith or David Tenant, I haven't, I'd just like to see less romance and a bit less of the OTT humour).

There are already YouTube clips up which combine the Malcolm Tucker character with Doctor Who. Please remember if you are to post anything like that on here to put them in spoiler tags for those folk who are at work. Ta. :)

DrewePeacock

May contain sarcasm
Senior Citizen
Reaction score
A friend posted this on facebook earlier...

Peter Capaldi plays a doctor in the movie World War Z working for the World Health Organisation...A Doctor working for the W.H.O...
A Doctor W.H.O...Doctor Who......oh forget it...

Plaxinator

Wino extraordinaire
Staff member
Senior Citizen
Reaction score
I'm pleased. I stopped watching Dr Who with the Matt bloke as he just annoys the feck out of me. David Tennant was superb. Sylvester McCoy will still be my favourite though closely followed by I think he's called Peter Davidson.

Martok

Board Game Addict
Staff member
Senior Citizen
Reaction score
Yep, the entry on his IMDB page of films he's been in reads

World War Z (2013)
W.H.O. Doctor

and on the World War Z page

Peter Capaldi
...​
W.H.O. Doctor